Kissing my Sister

Lemon Drizzle Pancakes. A recipe for the inept baker.

It was my birthday a couple of weeks ago and so I decided to bake myself a cake. Don’t feel sorry for me – I wanted to do it. Baking has always been my Everest – impossible to conquer and forever ending in disaster (not death though – yet). I decided to try a lemon drizzle cake. Mary Berry (the don of cakes if you haven’t heard of her) was the first recipe which came out of Google and I was pleased to see this recipe from her book Mary’s Stress-free Kitchen was extremely easy. You would think nothing could go wrong. I followed all the steps but somehow ended up with a cake as flat as the plate I served it on. I think my downfall was my choice of loaf tin. It looked loaf shaped but maybe it was brick shaped? It was thick and heavy may have been designed to mould bricks not cakes.  As well as a brick mould instead of a loaf tin we’ve also got a bit of a shonky oven. I blame my tools and not Mary for my lemon drizzle pancake. The cake was very tasty so this recipe is definitely recommended and (provided you check your apparatus) very easy and stress-free.

Ingredients

For the lemon drizzle cake:

  • 1½ large eggs (I used two medium ones , how do you half an egg?)
  • 5g (3 oz) self-raising flour
  • 5g (3 oz) caster sugar
  • 5g (3 oz) softened butter
  • ¾ level tsp baking powder
  • Finely grated zest of ½ lemon

For the crunchy lemon icing:

  • 50g (2 oz) granulated sugar
  • Juice of ½ lemon

You’ll also need:

  • 450g (1lb) loaf tin (not a brick mould), greased and lined

The lemon loaf will keep for 3 days and will freeze well for up to 2 months un – iced.

Method

  1. Preheat the oven to 180ºC, gas 4.
  2. Beat together the eggs, flour, caster sugar, butter, baking powder and lemon zest until smooth in a large mixing bowl and turn into the prepared tin.
  3. Bake in the pre-heated oven for about 35 mins, or until golden brown, shrinking away from the sides of the tin and springy to the touch.
  4. While the cake is still warm, make the lemon drizzle topping. Mix together the sugar and lemon juice, and pour over the warm cake.
  5. Leave to cool a little and loosen the sides of the cake, then lift the cake out of the tin.
IMG_4481[1]

Stick some candles in it so you can see it.

Mary Berry Zara Bomber

Mary Berry looking fantastic in a Zara bomber and talking about a donut.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 4, 2016 by in Cambridge, Eats, Uncategorized and tagged , , , .
