Kissing my Sister

Skint Soup – otherwise know as one week until pay day lunches

Soup

I wish I could write about amazing New York restaurants I’ve been to… I’m an intern though and so I can’t. I spend all my money on ‘drunches’, drunk brunches, happy hours and pizza slices. This is the sad fact. Being skint and hungry usually come together. Since I arrived in New York I have done no cooking (I made bread sauce at Christmas). The one thing I do cook though is this. Around about the end of the month when I’m too broke to buy a sandwich this soup gives me sustenance and costs less than $5.

This is my friend Suzanne’s Grandma’s recipe for lentil with rice soup. Grandma Teresa fed nine mouths for over twenty years in a two bedroom apartment in the projects in Brooklyn. Quite a lady. She also kept a broke intern alive for six cold months in the winter of 2015. This is a satisfying, simple and obviously easy on the purse strings.

The soup is delicious as is but also makes a good base for other lentil and rice dishes. I added celery, carrot, rosemary and oregano to mine. For more soup- spiration try these.

http://allrecipes.co.uk/recipe/2457/vegetarian-red-lentil-curry-with-spinach.aspx

http://ohmyveggies.com/recipe-middle-eastern-lentil-and-rice-soup/

http://www.cookforyourlife.org/recipes/brown-lentil-and-rice-soup-with-carrots

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 24, 2015 by in Recipe and tagged , , , , , , .
