Kissing my Sister

The Food of Instagram – a bitching good brunch in Soho

Bucher's Daughter

Brunch is served. The Butcher’s Daughter.

I followed my Instagram feed to some excellent places in Soho Nolita especially for brunch. I saw that many smashed avocado on toast from Two Hands I had to got there. Promising good food by good dudes it is reasonably priced, ethically sourced and tiny cafe. The cue is usually twenty minutes long at the weekend and the Chia bowls also come highly recommended by gluten-free yogi types. The Butcher’s Daughter is round the corner on Kenmare Street. Google promised ‘a cheerful outfit for veggie eats and juices’, but don’t let that put you off. Brunch is served Weekends from 10 – 4 pm, normal service resumes from then on. It is more of a restaurant so you can have a mimosa with your brunch if you want. The lunch menu looked good with inventive salads and varying ways of consuming kale. I wasn’t that impressed with the juices however, when you’re paying $9 I would expect them to be freshly juiced, which they aren’t – but never mind.

Black Seed Bagel. is also next door on Elizabeth. Have a gander at #mybagelrocks on Instagram and you will find that most of these are from these tiny little cafe. The bagels are ‘hand-rolled and wood-fired’ I haven’t sampled it myself but Instagram tells me the fillings are generous. Mother’s Ruin is also a block away which is good for brunch (or Bitchin’ Brunch). I went for after work cocktails one Friday and although it’s tiny it had some entertaining features such as – a mini-bar on the actual bar with magnets you can play with, a slushie margarita machine, and tasty and amusingly named cocktails (which change daily) none of which I can now remember. I think that’s a good thing though.

The ubiquitous avocado on toast

The ubiquitous avocado on toast

Leave a Reply

